Nominations for the 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards

Marc Jacobs, Donna Karan and Alexander Wang have been nominated for Womenswear Designer of the Year while Michael Bastian, Tom Ford together with Marcus Wainwright & David Neville of Rag & Bone are competing for the title of Menswear Designer of the Year.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) announced the nominations for the 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards on March 17th at an exclusive event hosted by Nadja Swarovski and Diane von Furstenberg at the designer’s studio in the Meatpacking District.

And, as it is every year, the CFDA honorees were also announced, with Michael Kors, who will received the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award on top of the list. The CFDA Board of Directors chose to honor Alexander McQueen with their Special Tribute Award.

The other special award honorees are: Eugenia Sheppard Award – Kim Hastreiter, Paper; International Award – Christopher Bailey for Burberry; Fashion Icon Award – Iman; Eleanor Lambert Award – Tonne Goodman, Vogue

Below is the list of Nominees and Awardees as released by the CFDA:

Womenswear Designer of the Year

* Marc Jacobs
* Donna Karan
* Alexander Wang

Menswear Designer of the Year

* Michael Bastian
* Tom Ford
* Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone.

Accessory Designer of the Year

* Alexis Bittar,
* Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler
* Marc Jacobs

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:

* Joseph Altuzarra
* Prabal Gurung
* Jason Wu

Swarovski Award for Menswear:

* Richard Chai
* Patrik Ervell
* Simon Spurr

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:

* Eddie Borgo
* Dana Lorenz
* Alexander Wang

The Swarovski Award recipients in each category will receive generous financial support from Swarovski as well as exposure to the company’s vast and innovative Swarovski crystal resources.


* Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Michael Kors
* Eugenia Sheppard Award: Kim Hastreiter, Paper
* International Award: Christopher Bailey for Burberry
* Board of Directors’ Special Tribute: Alexander McQueen
* Fashion Icon Award: Iman
* Eleanor Lambert Award: Tonne Goodman, Vogue

This year will again feature The Popular Vote Award sponsored by L’Oréal Paris, giving the public the opportunity to vote for its favorite designer. The online site, hosted by Women’s Wear Daily, will present looks from designers of womenswear, menswear, and accessory design and includes a write in option.

The 2010 CFDA Fashion Awards winners will be announced at the annual gala, generously underwritten by Swarovski, on June 7 at Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center.