Burberry's Christopher Bailey Wins British Fashion Awards Designer of the Year

London, 10 December 2009 – Burberry Chief Creative Officer won the Designer of the Year Award at the British Fashion Awards last night. The award was presented by Victoria Beckham.
Burberry also won the Brand of the Year award at the ceremony held at The Royal Courts of Justice in London.

Christopher Bailey announced that Burberry will continue to show its Burberry Prorsum womenswear show during London Fashion Week, when collecting the award.

“I am extremely pleased to announce that the Burberry Prorsum womenswear show will stay in London again this season and will be held during London Fashion Week in February. There was such an incredible energy during the 25th anniversary of London Fashion Week last September and we were very proud to be a part of this momentous celebration. London is our home and our global headquarters and we are thrilled to be showing again in this, our magnificent and creative city.”

Christopher Bailey, Burberry Chief Creative Officer

Christopher Bailey has previously been recognised at the British Fashion Awards with the Menswear Designer of the Year award in 2008 and 2007 and with the Designer of the Year award in 2005.

Last week Christopher Bailey collected his MBE from Buckingham Palace in London having been appointed a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in the Queen Elizabeth II Birthday 2009 Honours List in June 2009 for his services to the Fashion Industry.

In his role as Chief Creative Officer of Burberry, Christopher Bailey is responsible for the design of all Burberry collections and products, as well as all advertising, corporate art direction, architectural design, multi-media content and overall brand image for Burberry.

Burberry has a history of supporting British arts and creativity and continues to invest and develop British talent through a number of initiatives including the Burberry Foundation founded by Burberry Chief Executive Angela Ahrendts and Christopher Bailey in 2008.

Other winners include: Top Model, Georgia Jagger. Menswear Designer, Kim Jones. London 25, Kate Moss.
Georgia Jagger Model of the Year